Ben Gibbard performs on stage with The Postal Service in 2013

The Postal Service Announces Live Album Release

Article Tags
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on pinterest
The Latest
Tonic Topics
Join the Convo on Facebook!

The Postal Service is dropping a live album next month.

New Live Album From Postal Service Will Feature Favorite Hits

Titled Everything Will Change, it will include favorites like “The District Sleeps Alone Tonight” and “Such Great Heights.”

The indie pop group from Seattle first released their debut album, Give Up, in 2003 on Sub Pop Records. It picked up mostly positive reviews, and the band followed it with a successful concert tour.

Give Up reached number 114 on the US Billboard 200 album chart, and later received platinum certification from the Recording Industry Association of America. The album was Sub Pop Records’ most successful release after Nirvana’s debut album, Bleach.

Even still, The Postal Service remained largely inactive until 2013. That’s when the band reunited for a tour and released a re-issue of Give Up to celebrate its tenth anniversary.

The band’s new live album, Everything Will Change, is from that 2013 reunion tour. It was recorded while they performed at the Greek Theatre in Berkeley, California as part of the 2013 tour. The material was previously only available as part of the band’s 2014 concert film of the same name.

What to Expect on Everything Will Change

Everything Will Change drops digitally on December 4th via Sub Pop Records. The 15-song set features all 10 of the tracks found on the original Give Up. Three tracks — “Turn Around,” “Be Still My Heart,” and “A Tattered Line of String” — were later released as part of the 10th anniversary deluxe album. The live album will also feature covers of Beat Happening’s “Our Secret,” and Dntel’s “(This Is) The Dream of Evan and Chan.”

The Postal Service shared the footage of them performing “The District Sleeps Alone Tonight” and “Natural Anthem” in conjunction with the news of the new live album.

Earlier this year, recording engineer and producer Don Gunn remixed the recordings that were originally released for the 2014 film. The live album was also remastered by Grammy nominated mastering engineer Dave Cooley.

Everything Will Change Full Track List

  1. “The District Sleeps Alone Tonight”
  2. “We Will Become Silhouettes”
  3. “Sleeping In”
  4. “Turn Around”
  5. “Nothing Better”
  6. “Recycled Air”
  7. “Be Still My Heart”
  8. “Clark Gable”
  9. “Our Secret” (Beat Happening)
  10. “This Place Is a Prison”
  11. “A Tattered Line of String”
  12. “Such Great Heights”
  13. “Natural Anthem”
  14. “(This Is) the Dream of Evan and Chan” (Dntel)
  15. “Brand New Colony”

Everything Will Change will arrive digitally on December 4th via Sub Pop Records.

This is the only real thing we’ve seen come from The Postal Service since that tour in 2013. Ben Gibbard (also from Death Cab for Cutie) announced that the band would disband permanently after the reunion tour was over, and apparently he wasn’t kidding.

Of course, the indie pop group did get back together for one thing recently: the US Presidential election. Ben Gibbard, Jimmy Tamborello, and collaborator Jenny Lewis held “band auditions” in an effort to get people to vote. It was a mock video conference featuring big names like Weird Al Yankovic, Huey Lewis, Big Freedia, and both Slash and Duff McKagan from Guns ‘N Roses.