Book Recs Based on Favorite TV Couples feat
Dutton | G.P. Putnam's Sons | Avon | Staci Hart Novels | Gallery Books | Yesenia Vargas | B.K. Borison | Balzer + Bray | Montlake Romance | Jillian Dodd Inc.

Book Recommendations Based on Your Favorite TV Couples

Craving those warm fuzzy feelings from watching your favorite couples fall in love on screen? Check out these books for some more goal-worthy relationships.
Author
Article Tags
Share
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on pinterest
The Latest
Tonic Topics
Join the Convo on Facebook!

Summer typically brings more free time to watch television shows. Even though there are so many incredible new shows out there, I keep going back to my favorites. These are shows built around TV coupless that make me dream of meeting my perfect match.

What better way to honor some of the best television couples than by finding similar relationships in books? From I Love Lucy to Brooklyn Nine-Nine, here are the books you should read based on your favorite TV couple.

Kurt and Blaine from ‘Glee’: ‘The Backstagers’ by James Tynion IV and Rian Singh

Kurt and Blaine from Glee; The Backstagers by James Tynion IV and Rian Singh
BOOM! Box | 20th Century Fox | Ryan Murphy Productions | Brad Falchuk Teley-Vision

When it comes to Kurt and Blaine, be prepared for drama – and not just between the two of them. Their fellow glee club members are just magnets for crazy and intense moments. So, how about a more low-key LGBTQ+ relationship?

Rebels Without Applause is the first book in The Backstagers series by James Tynion IV and Rian Singh. It follows the backstage theatre crew after Jory transfers to the school and joins the group. It might be a graphic novel, but it is also a charming contemporary romance. This one is perfect for fans of Glee and Heartstopper.

Zoe and Wade from ‘Hart of Dixie’: ‘In the Weeds’ by B.K. Borison

Zoe and Wade from Hart of Dixie; In the Weeds by B.K. Borison
B.K. Borison | The CW | CBS | Warner Bros. | Dogarooski Productions | Fake Empire Productions

After being in a love triangle for a few seasons, it was nice to see these two really come together in the end. They each brought out the best in each other, but the journey to that happy ending wasn’t an easy one.

In the Weeds follows the up-and-down rollercoaster of a relationship between social media influencer Evelyn and farmer Beckett. After disappearing from Beckett’s life twice, she comes back to his farm one more time to find herself. And she might just find love, too.

Jake and Amy from ‘Brooklyn Nine-Nine’: ‘Opposites Attract’ by Camilla Isley

Amy and Jake from Brooklyn Nine-Nine; Opposites Attract by Camilla Isley
Pink Bloom Press | NBC | Fox | Fremulon | Dr. Goor Productions | 3 Arts Entertainment | Universal Television

Talk about one of the funniest and cutest relationships I’ve seen in a police-centric show. When we first meet Amy and Jake, it’s obvious they are opposites. But you know what they say about opposites – they attract.

In Opposites Attract, Vivian is a divorce lawyer who has written off love; Lucas is a marriage counselor. When he starts saving marriages that Vivian could help with divorce settlements, they form a bet with their neighboring offices on the line.

Callie and Arizona from ‘Grey’s Anatomy’: ‘Written in the Stars’ by Alexandria Bellefleur

Callie and Arizona from Grey's Anatomy; Written in the Stars by Alexandria Bellefleur
Avon | ABC | Buena Vista Television | Disney | Trip the Light | Entertainment One Television | The Mark Gordon Company | Shondaland

When it came to Callie and Arizona, I wanted a lesbian romance that did them justice. They were a cute couple that my friend told me were one of the best in Grey’s Anatomy. Therefore, I went with one of my favorite LGBTQ+ novels, Written in the Stars.

In this novel, Darcy just wants her brother to leave her romantic life alone, and Elle just wants to find her person. When Elle is set up with Darcy, she thinks something’s gone wrong with the stars. But as with all fake dating scenarios, fake feelings soon get mixed up with genuine emotions.

See related: What Book Should You Read Next Based on Your Aesthetic?

Nick and Jess from ‘New Girl’: ‘Twice Shy’ by Sarah Hogle

Nick and Jess from New Girl; Twice Shy by Sarah Hogle
G.P. Putnam’s Sons | 20th Century Fox | Chernin Entertainment | American Nitwits | Elizabeth Meriwether Pictures | Meriwether Productions

Can someone find me a Nick to my Jess? Seriously, these two are one my absolute favorite fictional couples. They constantly challenged and pushed each other. In season five, you could really see how much they’d grown just from being with each other.

Twice Shy follows the story of Maybell, a ball of sunshine who falls in love with the grouchy groundskeeper, Wesley. They first meet when Maybell moves into her new home (inherited from her great-aunt), and Wesley writes her off immediately. But Maybell won’t let that slide.

Damon and Elena from ‘The Vampire Diaries’: ‘#LoveToHateThatBoy’ by Yesenia Vargas

Elena and Damon from The Vampire Diaries; #LoveToHateThatBoy by Yesenia Vargas
Yesenia Vargas | The CW | CBS | Warner Bros. | Alloy Entertainment | Outerbanks Entertainment

During my first watch-through of The Vampire Diaries, I really wanted to hate this pairing but couldn’t deny their chemistry. Now, I root for them even when Elena is with Stefan. Elena makes Damon want to be a better person, and Damon brings Elena out of her shell. Here’s another bad boy-good girl romance that you’ll love!

#LoveToHateThatBoy by Yesenia Vargas follows Tori and Noah’s unlikely relationship. Tori’s the golden girl; Noah’s the guy who always gets overlooked. When they first meet, nobody thinks they’ll get along. But as they get to know and see every side of each other, it’s obvious they’re falling in love.

Fran and Maxwell from ‘The Nanny’: ‘Love, Hannah’ by Staci Hart

Fran and Maxwell from The Nanny; Love, Hannah by Staci Hart
Staci Hart Novels | CBS | Sony | TriStar Television | Sternin & Fraser Ink Inc. | Highschool Sweethearts Productions

I absolutely loved this relationship; Fran was hilarious, while Maxwell was the person who grounded her. So, for this relationship’s recommendation, I really wanted to focus on a nanny and her boss falling in love just like these two.

In Love, Hannah, Charlie hires Hannah as an au pair after her last job fell through. Charlie’s been struggling with being a single dad, and Hannah might just be what he and his children need for support. But when you spend nearly every day together, feelings are bound to bloom eventually.

See related: What Should You Read Next Based on Your Favorite Trope?

Luke and Lorelai from ‘Gilmore Girls’: ‘That Forever Girl’ by Meghan Quinn

Luke and Lorelai from Gilmore Girls; That Forever Girl by Meghan Quinn
Montlake Romance | The WB | The CW | Warner Bros. | Dorothy Parker Drank Here Productions | Hofflund/Polone

I personally don’t love Gilmore Girls, but I do adore Luke and Lorelai’s relationship. They are funny and sassy, sure, but they’re also deeply connected and anchor each other over the years. When they finally got together, it was like a weight lifted off their shoulders.

Though That Forever Girl is the second book in a series, it can be read as a standalone. It follows Rogan and Harper as they reconnect when she returns to town after several years. And though they can’t pick up where they left off, their feelings make it hard to stay apart.

Monica and Chandler from ‘Friends’: ‘My Favorite Half-Night Stand’ by Christina Lauren

Monica and Chandler from Friends; My Favorite Half-Night Stand by Christina Lauren
Gallery Books | NBC | Warner Bros. | Bright/Kauffman/Crane Productions

Monica and Chandler have the kind of relationship I can only hope to find one day. Though they started off rough in college, they became best friends and then lovers. What more could you want from a relationship? And before anyone tries comparing them to Ross and Rachel: There is no comparison.

In My Favorite Half-Night Stand, Millie and her friends search online dating apps for dates to a campus event. But the catch is that she hooks up with one of those friends before the event. Though they try to stay “just friends” after, it won’t work out as they planned.

Cory and Topanga from ‘Boy Meets World’: ‘That Boy’ by Jillian Dodd

Cory and Topanga from Boy Meets World; That Boy by Jillian Dodd
Jillian Dodd Inc. | ABC | Buena Vista Television | Michael Jacobs Productions | Touchstone Television

Cory and Topanga are the literal blueprint for childhood friends to lovers. They grew up together and saw each other’s worst and best. Sure, they had their rough patches, but they always made it through. I really wanted a book recommendation that captured that feeling.

That’s how I came upon That Boy. JJ has two best friends – Danny and Philip – who have stuck by her side for years. Danny is the boy every girl wants in high school; Philip is the boy next door. The book follows JJ’s everchanging relationship with both boys through the years.

Ben and Leslie from ‘Parks and Recreation’: ‘You Say It First’ by Katie Cotugno

Ben and Leslie from Parks and Rec; You Say It First by Katie Cotugno
Balzer + Bray | NBC | Universal Television | 3 Arts Entertainment | Fremulon | Deedle-Dee Productions | Open 4 Business Productions

Ben is one of the most supportive boyfriends (and, later, husband)s I’ve seen on TV. Even when Leslie’s dreams are way too big for most people, he’s still there. But what about a book that features the go-getter girl and “right there with her” boyfriend?

In You Say It First, Meg has it all planned out: go to Cornell with her best friend and volunteer at the phone bank any chance she gets. But that plan is questioned when she connects with Colby. He ignites a spark in her that she never expected.

See related: The Absolute Best Disney Channel Couples

Jim and Pam from ‘The Office’: ‘Attachments’ by Rainbow Rowell

Jim and Pam from The Office; Attachments by Rainbow Rowell
Dutton | NBC | Universal | Shine America | Reveille Productions | 3 Arts Entertainment | Deedle-Dee Productions

Jim and Pam embody the ideal office romance for so many fans. Attachments by Rainbow Rowell has that cute love story set in an office that will keep anyone swooning for days. It might even make you want to work a cubicle job to find your very own office soulmate.

Jennifer and Beth are work besties swapping funny emails at the office. Lincoln is the one who monitors the emails – and he’s snooping, big time. Over time, Lincoln starts falling for Beth – but they’ve never actually met. How do you introduce yourself to someone whose email you’ve been reading for months?

Lucy and Ricky from ‘I Love Lucy’: ‘My Grape Year’ by Laura Bradbury

Lucy and Ricky from I Love Lucy; My Grape Year by Laura Bradbury
Grape Books | CBS | Desilu Productions

For Lucy and Ricky from I Love Lucy, I really wanted to find a classic romance. But I also didn’t want to just go with Jane Austen or Charlotte Brontë. Instead, I went a little less traditional with this book. My Grape Year is a memoir that is also classified as a contemporary romance.

In My Grape Year, Laura is sent to France for a year of wine tasting and learning local customs. While she’s there, she doesn’t plan on falling in love with anyone or anything. But fate has different ideas when she struggles to stick to her “no dating” rule.